A Mom Who Takes Care Of Herself First

imageHere’s what I realized by the time my kids went to grade school. As women we are constantly pouring out to nurture and care for our kids, husband, families, pets, friends, co workers, who did I miss?

The question is, who is pouring out to us?

As moms and wife’s, we also need to be taken care of, but carers often miss out. I realized pretty quickly that this comes with the territory and that it was up to me to nurture and take care of myself to get some of the TLC I needed.

For this reason, I feel no guilt when I have a pedicure or a massage. Such treats make me a happier person, which in turn makes me a better wife, mother, daughter, friend and co-worker!  A lunch out with the girls is a great mid-week pick me up.  I have found that networking with other women plays an important part in validating the decisions I make as a mother and partner.  I believe it is healthy to bounce ideas off like minded women who may offer a view from a different perspective. I’m not saying that I don’t get lots of TLC and validation from my partner, no, that’s not the case at all, we are a great team.  I feel that when I am engaged in a spa activity or lunch with friends when there is no other purpose than for my enjoyment, that I am taking care me, this is how I nurture myself.

How do you take care of you?

 

 

 

Submitted8/20/2014 at 12:28 PM EDT
ReporterAnonymous (query-45lt@helpareporter.net)
Status Submitted Submitted

Leave a Reply

